Posted by: Madeline's Plate | July 28, 2010

Madeline’s Picks: Brixen

Madeline's Picks: Brixen

This small town is nestled in the Dolomites between Austria and Italy. The Italians call it Bressanone and the Austrians call it Brixen. By any name it’s charming. The main tourist season is during the winter, when people flock to the slopes, but my favorite time to visit is spring. This is the region that most of Italy’s apples hail from and if you come in early May you’ll see fields and fields of soft pink apple blossoms. I’ve already written about how much I love this region, but it merited one more picture.

*NOTE*: Why I have been so AWOL? Because I’ve (temporarily? permanently? who knows…) returned to the U.S. and been mourning Italy. Besides searching for work on three continents, I’ve been completing some translation jobs and devoting myself to preparing for numerous standardized tests. Just came across the photos of my last months in Italy – the months where I was enjoying life far, far too much to post regularly. This is the first of several photos of my favorite places.

Responses

  1. This is great! I’ve been following your blog for a while because it’s so interesting to see a “foreigner’s” perspective on Italy, but now I just *have* to comment — because you’re writing about my hometown! I’m a Brixner, born and raised, bilingual and everything 🙂
    I hope you had a great time here.
    All the best and good luck,
    Val

    • Thanks! Brixen is actually one of my given names – 24 years ago my parents went on a romantic vacation there… and I’m the (unexpected) souvenir they brought back. So maybe I can almost be a Brixener too? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

